Wardruna – Yggdrasil [2o13] translations!

Sowing new seeds and strengthening old roots.

Here for your runic pleasure, the Old Norse to English translations of Yggdrasil.

  1. Rootless Tree Falls

 

Come Austre

Come dawning day

Come fathers and mothers

Of high-timbered families

Come roosters of the three realms

 

Come all father Odin

Come Frigga my mother

Come Vanir wise

Come ancient Thurses

For the seed I have sown;

Sing the songs that once bred life

 

An ash stands tall

Yggdrasil named

thrones evergreen

over the well of Urd

 

Hearken all sons of Heimdallr

Wake from your slumber

Give strength to the root

Sharply it’s aged

By the serpents that gnaw beneath

 

Three norns I ask

That life shall be spun

Three norns I ask

That life shall be twined

Three norns I ask

That life shall be bound

Bound to the root.

 

Aesir, Norns

Vanir wise, Maiden Thurser

Yearning Valkyries

Elves, Dwarves, Disir, Volvur

Guardians guarding Yggdrasil

 

  1. Fehu

 

Fe causes strife amongst friends

The wolf feeds in the forest

Fe is joy to man

Strife among kin

Path of the serpent

 

The snake lies coiled

Hidden, it waits beneath

Like a frost covered field

Strife that kinsmen suffer

 

 

  1. NaudiR

 

It is so cold here

The wind has taken my last leaves

Deep beneath the serpent gnaws

Sharply I age

 

Deep from the deep

The heart pounds

Deep from the deep

The heart strikes

Like stones give sparks

Gives spark to the fire within

Gives spark to the heart

 

To mind and blood

To mind and blood

 

NaudiR

 

The fire that takes

Life

The fire that gives

Life

 

The heart pounds

Dark mists are cloaking

What the eyes can see

And the path that I follow

And the tracks that I trod

Are cold, so cold

 

I welcome

I need no more

In need is found

Naud my fire

 

I welcome

I hunger no more

In hunger is found

Naud my fire

 

I welcome it burns no more

In fire is bound

Naud my fire

 

  1. EhwaR

 

Ride my horse

My mind runs restless

Want the way, want the way

Ride my horse

The storm calms

Want the way, want the way

 

 

  1. AnsuR

Aesir all!

Wise of Valhalla!

Strength in the roots wound shall be

Strength in the roots wound shall be

 

  1. IwaR

Ullr in Ydalir

Bent his bow

Aimed his bow

Arrows pointing

Toward Yggdrasil’s

Nine home worlds

 

Wound with intent

Woven with intent

 

to Nivelheim fly

to Muspellheim fly

to Jotunheim fly

to Asgard fly

to Midgard fly

to Vanaheim fly

to Helheimen fly

to Svartalvheim fly

to Ljosalvheim fly

 

Wound with intent

Woven with intent

 

out of Nivelheim fly

out of Muspellheim fly

out of Jotunheim fly

out of Asgard fly

out of Midgard fly

out of Vanaheim fly

out of Helheimen fly

out of Svartalvheim fly

out of Ljosalvheim fly

 

Wound with intent

Woven with intent

 

 

  1. IngwaR

 

Tie myself to you

Weaving root in root

Above and under

Ing inside

 

Carry you in me

Seeds grow from seeds

Outer and inner

Ing inside

I nourish myself from you

Unwinding branch from branch

Above and under

Ing inside

 

  1. Gibu

 

Havamal stanza 43 – 47

 

  1. The Ring of The Sun

 

the sun wheeled in its ring

the summer she sent

roosters crowing waking songs

for elves in the meadow

 

strength in the body

growth in the earth

 

roosters crowing – galders growing

norns spinning – fates binding

Gods crying – wolves howling

Ravens shouting – giants sleeping

Shadows threatening – barley swaying

Fields growing – sun shining

Wolves hunting – sun fleeing

Roosters crowing – galders growing

 

  1. Sowelu

 

Shield of ships

Shining halo

Destroyer of ice

Turning wheel

 

Skoll is the wolf

Fairwheel he follows

Horses pull hard

The shining goddess

 

Svalinn the shield

Stands in front of the sun

Sea and stones burn

Should he fall from his stand

 

On the shield they are carved

On the ear of Arvakr

On the hoof of Allsvinn

On the turning wheel

 

Twice I Sowelu carve

Twice I Sowelu colour

Twice I Sowelu shout

 

  1. The Way to Hel

I sought the songs

I sent the songs

Then, the deepest well

Offered drops so strong

Of Valfader’s pledge

 

I know Odin

Where you hid your eye

 

Who will sing me

In the deathsleep sweep me

On the road to Hel

When the tracks I trod

Are cold, so cold

 

Early or in the fading day

The raven knows where I lay

 

When you stand at the gate of Hel

And when you have to tear free

I will follow you

Past the bridge of Gjoll with my song

 

You become free from the bonds that bind you!

You are free from the bonds that bound you!

Leave a Reply

